George Louis Beer Prize

The American Historical Association offers the George Louis Beer Prize in recognition of outstanding historical writing in European international history since 1895. This prize was established in accordance with the terms of a bequest by George Louis Beer (1872–1920), historian of the British colonial system before 1765, to be awarded annually for the best work on any phase of European international history since the year 1895 that is submitted by a scholar who is a United States citizen or permanent resident. The phrase “European international history since the year 1895” may be understood to mean any study of international history since the year 1895 with a significant European dimension. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Only books of a high scholarly historical nature should be submitted. Research accuracy, originality, and literary merit are important factors.
  2. Only books bearing a copyright of 2018 are eligible for the 2019 prize.
  3. The author must be a United States citizen or permanent resident.
  4. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  5. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  6. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Beer Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2019, to be eligible for the 2019 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2019 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2020 AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Geoff Eley
Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Dept. of History
1029 Tisch Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003

Wendy Lower
Claremont McKenna Coll.
Mgrublian Center for Human Rights
850 Columbia Ave.
Claremont, CA 91711-6420

Maura O’Connor
Univ. of Cincinnati
Dept. of History
360 McMicken Hall
PO Box 210373
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0373

Vanessa Ogle
Univ. of California, Berkeley
Dept. of History
3229 Dwinelle Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-2550
ONLY accepting e-books

Michelle Tusan
Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas
Dept. of History
4505 S. Maryland Pkwy.
Box 455020
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5020
Prefers e-books