Clarence H. Haring Prize

Next Award Year: 2026

The submission deadline has passed. Awardees are announced in the fall, and the next contest will begin in spring 2026.

The Haring Prize is a quinquennial prize awarded to the Latin American author who has published the most outstanding book on Latin American history during the five years preceding the year of the award. Clarence Haring (1885–1960) was a noted Latin Americanist and a longtime member of the Association. Capital for the prize was derived from contributions from the friends of Clarence H. Haring and from other grants between 1963 and 1966.

The current prize amount is $1,000. See the list of past recipients.

The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright between 2021 and 2025 will be eligible for the prize in 2026.
  2. There is no language limitation on works submitted, however, preference will be given to books written in one of the languages of Latin America.
  3. Preference will be given to authors whose primary affiliation is to a Latin American institution.
  4. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  5. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  6. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Haring Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2026, to be eligible for the 2026 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2026 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2027 AHA annual meeting.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

This year's submission deadline has passed.

The prize submission form for the next competition will be posted by March 15 for submissions due May 15.