Eugenia M. Palmegiano Prize Recipients

The Eugenia M. Palmegiano Prize in the History of Journalism is awarded annually to the author of the most outstanding book published in English on any aspect of the history of journalism, concerning any area of the world, and any period. This prize recognizes the vital contributions that journalism history has made to our understanding of the past.

Janet Afary and Kamran Afary, Mollā Nasreddin: The Making of a Modern Trickster, 1906–1911 (Edinburgh Univ. Press)

Kathy Roberts Forde and Sid Bedingfield, eds., Journalism and Jim Crow: White Supremacy and the Black Struggle for a New America (Univ. of Illinois Press)

Vanessa Freije, Citizens of Scandal: Journalism, Secrecy, and the Politics of Reckoning in Mexico (Duke Univ. Press)

Vincent DiGirolamo, Crying the News: A History of America’s Newsboys (Oxford Univ. Press)

Phoebe Musandu, Pressing Interests: The Agenda and Influence of a Colonial East African Newspaper Sector (McGill-Queen’s Univ. Press)

Julia Guarneri, Newsprint Metropolis: City Papers and the Making of Modern Americans (Univ. of Chicago Press)

Amelia Bonea, The News of Empire: Telegraphy, Journalism, and the Politics of Reporting in Colonial India, c. 1830-1900 (Oxford Univ. Press)