Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

Established in 1986, the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teaching and advocacy for history teaching at two-year, four-year, and graduate colleges and universities. The award is named for the late Eugene Asher, for many years a leading advocate for history teaching. The Society for History Education shares the sponsorship of the award. See the list of past recipients.


The award is intended for inspiring teachers whose techniques and mastery of subject matter made a real difference to students of history. Nominations of mentors or teaching colleagues are appropriate. An individual may not nominate his or her thesis adviser (current or within the past five years). At the time of nomination, a nominee must still be alive but may be retired or emeritus.

Submission Details

Nominations should include:

1. An award nomination form (you will be prompted to complete this form online in step 3 of the application process) 

2. Up to five letters of nomination (no more than two pages each) These letters can be from former students, colleagues, and others. There is no set proportion or formula on the "right" mix of letters. Individuals organizing nominations should solicit a cross selection as appropriate to address the nominee's outstanding teaching and advocacy.

3. Selected syllabus (or syllabi) of the nominee

4. The nominee's CV highlighting educational experience, teaching, and advocacy. Maximum length of CV should be 5 pages.

Generally, one individual serves as the organizer for the nomination, writes one of the letters nominating the individual, procures the nominee's syllabus and CV (condenses to 5-page limit as necessary), and contacts individuals to write additional letters of support. Self nominations are welcome.

The AHA has partnered with Interfolio to manage our nomination process. Submitting a nomination package through Interfolio is FREE for nominators. When submitting a nomination, if you don't already have an account with Interfolio, you will be asked to set up an account and create a password, but you will NOT be charged any fee to create the account.

Nominations must be submitted through Interfolio by May 15, 2020, to be eligible for the 2020 competition. Mailed, emailed, or faxed applications will not be accepted. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2020 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2021 AHA annual meeting in Seattle.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.