John K. Fairbank Prize

John K. FairbankThe John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History is offered annually for an outstanding book in the history of China proper, Vietnam, Chinese Central Asia, Mongolia, Manchuria, Korea, or Japan, substantially after 1800. It honors the late John K. Fairbank, Francis Lee Higginson Professor of History and director of the East Asian Research Center at Harvard University, and president of the Association in 1968. Only books of high scholarly and literary merit will be considered. Anthologies, edited works, and pamphlets are ineligible for the competition. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright of 2018 will be eligible for the 2019 prize.
  2. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  3. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Fairbank Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2019, to be eligible for the 2019 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2019 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2020 AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Christopher Atwood
Univ. of Pennsylvania
Dept. of East Asian Languages and Civ.
847 Williams Hall
255 S. 36th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6305
Jeffrey Hanes
Univ. of Oregon
Dept. of History
1288 Univ. of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1288
Gail Hershatter
Univ. of California, Santa Cruz
Dept. of History
Humanities Academic Services
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064-1077
Micheline Lessard
Univ. of Ottawa
Dept. d'Histoire
55 Laurier Ave. E.
Desmarais Bldg., 9th Fl.
Ottawa, ON K1N 6N5
Rian Thum
1801 Burgundy St.
New Orleans, LA 70116