Albert B. Corey Prize

Next Award Year: 2020

The Albert B. Corey Prize, awarded for the first time in 1967, is sponsored jointly by the American Historical Association and the Canadian Historical Association. This biennial prize is awarded in even numbered years for the best book on Canadian-American relations or on the history of both countries. The prize was approved in 1963 by the Councils of both Associations in honor of Albert B. Corey (1898–1963), one-time chair of the American section of the AHA-CHA Joint Committee, who first proposed such an award to encourage the study of Canadian-US relations. The awarding of the prize was formally ratified in 1966, after funding for the prize was secured. See the list of past recipients.

The 2020 prize is administered by the Canadian Historical Association. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books bearing a copyright of 2018 or 2019 are eligible for the 2020 prize.
  2. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  3. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Corey Prize Entry.” Entries to Canadian postal addresses must be sent Delivery Duty Paid. Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by early January 2020 to be eligible for the 2020 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the 2020 annual meeting of the Canadian Historical Association.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

The deadline for this year’s submissions has passed.

Judges’ contact information and prize submission form for the 2020 prize will be posted in fall 2019.