Friedrich Katz Prize

The American Historical Association offers the Friedrich Katz Prize in Latin American and Caribbean History, which honors Friedrich Katz, an Austrian-born specialist in Latin American history, whose nearly 50-year career inspired dozens of students and colleagues in the field. The general rules for submission are:

  1. The prize will be awarded annually to the best book published in English focusing on Latin America, including the Caribbean.
  2. Books bearing a copyright of 2018 are eligible for the 2019 prize.
  3. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  4. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  5. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Katz Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2019, to be eligible for the 2019 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2019 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2020 AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Laura Adderley
PO Box 15615
New Orleans, LA 70175-5615
Raymond Craib
Cornell Univ.
Dept. of History
450 McGraw Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-46013
Jerry Davila
Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Dept. of History
309 Gregory Hall
810 S. Wright St.
Urbana, IL 61801-3697
Emilio Kouri
Univ. of Chicago
Dept. of History
1126 E. 59th St.
Chicago, IL 60637-1554
Tatiana Seijas
c/o Keelin Burk, Fellowships
Newberry Library
60 West Walton St.
Chicago, IL 60610