J. Franklin Jameson Award

J. Franklin JamesonThe Jameson Award was established in 1974 for outstanding achievement in the editing of historical sources. The prize, which was first offered in 1980, honors J. Franklin Jameson, a founding member of the Association, its president in 1907, longtime managing editor of the American Historical Review, and an influential proponent of historical study. Originally established to be awarded every five years, the AHA Council made the decision in 2007 to change the frequency of the award to biennially. See the list of past recipients.

There is no monetary prize, but the winner receives a certificate in recognition of the award. The general rules for submission are:

  1. To be eligible for consideration, works must be of a scholarly, historical nature; review/journal editing is ineligible. Works with a copyright of 2019 or 2020 are eligible for the 2021 award.
  2. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  3. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each work submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Jameson Award Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2021, to be eligible for the 2021 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2021 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2022 AHA annual meeting in New Orleans.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Kevin Grant
Hamilton Coll.
Dept. of History
198 College Hill Rd.
Clinton, NY 13323

Nora Jaffary
7813 Av. Casgrain
Montreal, QC H2R 1Z2

Susie Porter
738 N. Hilltop Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84103

Tyson Reeder
344 Arrowhead Ln.
Stuarts Draft, VA 24477

Constance Schulz
Univ. of South Carolina
Dept. of History
Gambrell Hall
Columbia, SC 29208