Morris D. Forkosch Prize

The American Historical Association offers the Morris D. Forkosch Prize annually in recognition of the best book in English in the field of British, British imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485. Submission of books relating to the shared common law heritage of the English-speaking world are particularly encouraged in memory of the late Professor Forkosch’s contributions to the field of legal studies and legal history. See the list of past recipients.

The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright of 2020 will be eligible for the 2021 competition.
  2. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  3. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly marked “Forkosch Award Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2021, to be eligible for the 2021 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2021 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2022 AHA annual meeting in New Orleans.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Juanita L. De Barros
142 Indian Rd.
Toronto, ON M6R 2V6

George Robb
546 N. 7th St.
Newark, NJ 07107

Emily Rose
104 Library Pl.
Princeton, NJ 08540

Angela Thompsell
State Univ. of New York, Coll. at Brockport
Dept. of History
350 New Campus Dr.
Brockport, NY 14420-2956

James M. Vaughn
Ohio Univ.
Dept. of History
Bentley Annex 409
Athens, OH 45701-2979