John E. O'Connor Film Award Recipients

In recognition of his exceptional role as a pioneer in both teaching and research regarding film and history, the American Historical Association has established this award in honor of John E. O'Connor, New Jersey Institute of Technology. The honorific award seeks to recognize outstanding interpretations of history through the medium of film or video.

Documentary: The Soldier’s Opinion, Assaf Banitt, director and producer; Shahar Ben-Hur, producer; Shay Hazkani, Univ. of Maryland at College Park, writer (JMT Films)

Documentary: How the Monuments Came Down, Hannah Ayers and Lance Warren, producers and directors (Field Studio, in association with Virginia Public Media)

Documentary: CURED, Patrick Sammon and Bennett Singer, producers and directors (Story Center Films)

Documentary: Killing Patient Zero, Laurie Lynd, writer and director, and Corey Russell, producer (Fadoo Productions)
Dramatic Feature: Harriet, Kasi Lemmons, co-writer and director, and Debra Martin Chase, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, and Gregory Allen Howard, producers (Perfect World Pictures)

Documentary: Bisbee ’17, Robert Greene, director and editor; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Bennett Elliott, producers (4th Row Films)
Dramatic Feature: Colette, Wash Westmoreland, director; Elizabeth Karlsen, Pamela Koffler, Michel Litvak, Christine Vachon, producers (Killer Content, Number 9 Films)

Documentary: Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart, Tracy Strain, director and producer, and Randall MacLowry, producer (Lorraine Hansberry Documentary Project, LLC)

Documentary: I Am Not Your Negro, Raoul Peck, director (Velvet Film)
Dramatic Feature: Free State of Jones, Gary Ross, director (Bluegrass Films, Larger Than Life Productions, Route One Entertainment, and Vendian Entertainment)

Documentary: No Más Bebés, Renee Tajima-Pena, director, and Virginia Espino, producer (Moon Canyon Films)
Dramatic Feature: Son of Saul, Laszlo Nemes, director; Gabor Rajna, producer; and Gabor Sipos, producer (Laokoon Filmgroup)

Documentary: The Ghosts of Amistad: In the Footsteps of the Rebels, Tony Buba, director, and Marcus Rediker, producer (Univ. of Pittsburgh)
Dramatic Feature: 12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen, director, and Brad Pitt, producer (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

The Loving Story, Nancy Buirski, director, and Elisabeth James, producer (Icarus Films)

The Pruitt-Igoe Myth: An Urban History, Chad Freidrichs, director and producer; Jaime Freidrichs, Paul Fehler, and Brian Woodman, producers (Unicorn Stencil Documentary Films)

The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers, Judith Ehrlich, producer and director, and Rick Goldsmith, producer and director

Herskovits at the Heart of Blackness, Llewellyn Smith, producer; Vincent Brown, producer; and Christine Herbes-Sommers, producer (Vital Pictures and Independent Television Service)

Revolution '67, Marylou Tibaldo-Bongiorno, producer and director, and Jerome Bongiorno, photographer, editor, and animator (Bongiorno Productions, Independent Television Service, and P.O.V./American Documentary, in association with WSKG)

Sacco and Vanzetti, Peter Miller, director and producer, and Amy Linton, editor and producer (Willow Pond Films)

Proteus: A Nineteenth Century Vision, David Lebrun, producer, writer, director, and editor (Night Fire Films)

Morning Sun, Geremie Barme, director, producer, and writer; Richard Gordon, director and producer; and Carma Hinton, producer (Long Bow Group)

The Intolerable Burden, Chea Prince, director, and Constance Curry, producer (Blue Stream Productions)

The Good War and Those Who Refused to Fight It, Judith Ehrlich, producer and director, and Rich Tejada-Flores, producer and director (Paradigm Productions, in association with Independent Television Service)

Stranger with a Camera, Elizabeth Barret, producer and director (Appalshop and Kentucky Educational Television, in association with Independent Television Service)

Coming to Light: Edward S. Curtis and the North American Indians, Anne Makepeace, director (Anne Makepeace Productions and WNET, in association with Bullfrog Films)

Rabbit in the Moon, Emiko Omori, director and producer

The War Symphonies: Shostakovich versus Stalin, Larry Weinstein, producer (Rhombus Media)

A World Inscribed, Kathleen McDonough, writer, producer, and director

Tell the Truth and Run: George Seldes and the American Press, Rick Goldsmith, co-writer and producer

FDR, David Grubin, writer and producer (David Grubin Productions)

Freedom on my Mind, Connie Field, director, and Marilyn Mumford, director (Clarity Film Productions)

Heaven Will Protect the Working Girl, American Social History Project (Pennee Bender, Joshua Brown, and Andrea Andes Vasquez, directors)