Roy Rosenzweig Prize Recipients

The Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History is sponsored jointly by the AHA and the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (RRCHNM) at George Mason University. This nonresidential prize is awarded annually to honor and support work on an innovative and freely available new media project, and in particular for work that reflects thoughtful, critical, and rigorous engagement with technology and the practice of history.

Katherine McDonough, Daniel CS Wilson, Kaspar Beelen, Kasra Hosseini, Rosie Wood, Andrew Smith, Kalle Westerling, Daniel van Strien, Olivia Vane, Jon Lawrence, and Ruth Ahnert, MapReader (Living with Machines)

Tara E. Nummedal and Donna Bilak, Furnace and Fugue: A Digital Edition of Michael Maier’s Atalanta fugiens (1618) with Scholarly Commentary (Univ. of Virginia Press)

Robert Lee, Tristan Ahtone, Margaret Pearce, Kalen Goodluck, Geoff McGhee, and Cody Leff, Land-Grab Universities (High Country News)

Elaine Sullivan, Constructing the Sacred: Visibility and Ritual Landscape at the Egyptian Necropolis of Saqqara (Stanford Univ. Press)

Robert K. Nelson, Justin Madron, Nathaniel Ayers, and Edward Ayers, American Panorama: An Atlas of United States History

Adam Clulow and Tom Chandler, Virtual Angkor

Keisha Blain and Ibram Kendi, Black Perspectives

West Chester Univ., Goin’ North: Stories from the First Great Migration to Philadelphia, Charles Hardy III and Janneken Smucker (West Chester Univ.) and Doug Boyd (Univ. of Kentucky Libraries)

South Asian American Digital Archive, The First Days Project

Kansas City Public Library, Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1854-1865

Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Digital Archive: International History Declassified, History and Public Policy Program

Univ. of Minnesota, Twin Cities, Clarence Darrow Digital Collection, Univ. of Minnesota Law Library

New York Public Library, What's on the Menu?, a project of NYPL Labs. Ben Vershbow, project dir.; Rebecca Federman, project curator; and Michael Inman, project curator

DocSouth, Going to the Show, Robert C. Allen, scholarly advisor; Natasha Smith, principal investigator; Elise Moore and Adrienne MacKay, project managers

Univ. of Sydney, Digital Harlem: Everyday Life, 1915-1930, Stephen Robertson, Shane White, Stephen Garton, and Graham White