Friedrich Katz Prize Recipients

The Friedrich Katz Prize is awarded annually to the best book published in English focusing on Latin America, including the Caribbean. Awarded for the first time in 2014, the prize honors honors Friedrich Katz, an Austrian-born specialist in Latin American history, whose nearly 50-year career inspired dozens of students and colleagues in the field.

Brian P. Owensby, New World of Gain: Europeans, Guaraní, and the Global Origins of Modern Economy (Stanford Univ. Press)

Heather Flynn Roller, Contact Strategies: Histories of Native Autonomy in Brazil (Stanford Univ. Press)

Larissa Brewer-García, Beyond Babel: Translations of Blackness in Colonial Peru and New Granada (Cambridge Univ. Press)

Marixa Lasso, Erased: The Untold Story of the Panama Canal (Harvard Univ. Press)

Michel Gobat, Empire by Invitation: William Walker and Manifest Destiny in Central America (Harvard Univ. Press)

Lisa Sousa, The Woman Who Turned Into a Jaguar, and Other Narratives of Native Women in Archives of Colonial Mexico (Stanford Univ. Press)

Jane Mangan, Transatlantic Obligations: Creating the Bonds of Family in Conquest-Era Peru and Spain (Oxford Univ. Press)

Edward Beatty, Technology and the Search for Progress in Modern Mexico (Univ. of California Press)

Ada Ferrer, Freedom’s Mirror: Cuba and Haiti in the Age of Revolution (Cambridge Univ. Press)

Piero Gleijeses, Visions of Freedom: Havana, Washington, Pretoria, and the Struggle for Southern Africa, 1976-1991 (Univ. of North Carolina Press)