James Harvey Robinson Prize

The James Harvey Robinson Prize is awarded biennially for the teaching aid which has made the most outstanding contribution to the teaching and learning of history in any field for public or educational purposes. The Robinson Prize was established in 1974 by Council and first offered in 1978. It is named in honor of James Harvey Robinson (1863–1936), president of the Association in 1929 and a pioneer in new methods and content of history teaching. The winner will receive a one-year membership in the Association. See the list of past recipients.

General guidelines for submission are:

  1. The work should be a "teaching aid," which encompasses textbooks, source and reference materials, audiovisuals, computer-assisted instruction, and public history or museum materials. Monographs and revisions will not be considered.
  2. The work should have the potential to influence history education. This influence could be in the form of a model that would have wide adaptability, and/or the influence could affect teachers and students through widely taught courses.
  3. The work must demonstrate recent and good historical scholarship an must be well written and attractively presented.
  4. Only items with a copyright of 2018 or 2019 will be eligible for the 2020 award.
  5. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  6. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each entry submitted.
  7. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the committee members and clearly labeled “Robinson Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Given the disruptions caused by the COVID-19 crisis, we are adjusting the submission process for AHA Book Prizes:

  • Nominators must complete the online prize submission form by MAY 15.
  • When possible, nominators are also encouraged to send hard copies (or e-books, if hard copies are unavailable) by the May 15 deadline to provide prize committees with ample time to review submissions.
  • However, we are extending the deadline to receive hard copies of books by JUNE 15.

Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2020 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2021 AHA annual meeting in Seattle.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Christine Eubank
Bergen Community Coll.
Dept. of History
400 Paramus Rd.
Paramus, NJ 07652
Ebook Preferred
Trevor Getz
519 Santa Barbara Rd.
Berkely, CA 94707
Nancy Quam-Wickham
California State Univ., Long Beach
Dept. of History
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840-1601
Ebook Preferred