Members Making News

Members Making News highlights the accomplishments of AHA members. Members are encouraged to submit news about prizes, honors, significant publications, media appearances, and other professional achievements. (Please note that this page does not currently feature employment-related announcements, such as those concerning hiring or promotion.) Entries to be considered for inclusion in Members Making News can be about yourself, another AHA member, or a group of whom at least one is an AHA member. AHA staff will review all submissions; we reserve the right to reject or modify submissions that do not meet our guidelines.

  • AHA Members Named Gilder Lehrman Institute 2022 State History Teachers of the Year (August 2022)

    Aug 18, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to AHA members Melissa Collins (John P. Freeman Optional School) and Lisa Rauschart (Georgetown Day School) and all of the other K–12 history educators who were named the Gilder Lehrman Institute’s 2022 State History Teachers of the Year. Teachers were nominated by colleagues, parents, or students, then selected by a committee of educators and education professionals in their state.

  • AHA Members Awarded NEH Grants for Humanities Projects (August 2022)

    Aug 18, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to the 23 AHA members, along with many other historians, who were awarded grants by the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the NEH’s last round of funding for 2022. These peer-reviewed grants “will support vital humanities research, education, preservation, and public programs.”

  • AHA Members Serve as Lead Historians on Amicus Brief (August 2022)

    Aug 09, 2022 - 

    AHA members Kate Masur (Northwestern Univ.) and Gregory Downs (Univ. of California, Davis) served as the lead historians on an amicus brief submitted by professors of history and law to the Supreme Court for Students for Fair Admissions, Inc. v. President and Fellows of Harvard College and Students for Fair Admissions, Inc. v. University of North Carolina. The brief contests the “originalist” claim that the 14th Amendment does not permit race-conscious policies of any kind.

  • AHA Member Awarded Kluge Humanities Prize (June 2022)

    Jun 28, 2022 - 

    AHA member George Chauncey (Columbia Univ.) has been awarded the Library of Congress’s John W. Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity. The Kluge Prize is given every two years to “those whose scholarship has resonated both inside and outside academia.” Chauncey is the first scholar of LGBTQ+ studies to receive the award and “intends to collaborate with the library’s historians and curators on its AIDS Memorial Quilt archive collection.”

  • AHA Teaching Resource Developer Named 2022 ACLS Leading Edge Fellow (June 2022)

    Jun 21, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to AHA member Corinne Kannenberg (Metropolitan State Univ., Denver) for being named one of the ACLS Leading Edge Fellows for 2022. The Leading Edge Fellowship program “support[s] recent PhDs in the humanities and interpretive social sciences as they work with social justice organizations in communities across the United States.” Kannenberg is also a teaching resource developer for the AHA’s Teaching Things: Material Culture in the History Classroom initiative.

  • AHA Members Named Mellon Emerging Faculty Leaders for 2022 (June 2022)

    Jun 21, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to AHA members Melissa Borja (Univ. of Michigan) and Marc Robinson (California State Univ., San Bernardino), two of the ten scholars named Mellon Emerging Faculty Leaders (MEFL) for 2022 by the Institute for Citizens & Scholars. The MEFL program “support[s] junior faculty whose research focuses on contemporary American history, politics, culture, and society, and who are committed to the creation of an inclusive campus community for underrepresented students and scholars.”

  • Former AHA President Receives Honorary Degree from Harvard University (June 2022)

    Jun 09, 2022 - 

    AHA member and 2015 AHA president Vicki Ruiz (Univ. of California, Irvine) was awarded an honorary degree from Harvard University during the 2022 commencement ceremony for her eminent career in Latino/a history. The honorary Doctor of Laws degree recognizes Ruiz as the “[f]abled founding mother of Latina studies, weaving spirit threads of memory into tapestries of tenacity; she draws stories of food workers, field hands, and flappers from out of the shadows and into the light.”

  • AHA Member Named ACLS Emerging Voices Fellow (May 2022)

    May 27, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to AHA member Anna Yermakova (Harvard Univ.) and the other historians who were named as members of the 2022 cohort of the American Council of Learned Societies’ Emerging Voices Fellowship Program. The fellowship program “supports a vanguard of scholars whose voices, perspectives, and broad visions will strengthen institutions of higher education and humanistic disciplines in the years to come.”

  • AHA Member Publishes Historical Fiction Novel (May 2022)

    May 25, 2022 - 

    Congratulations to AHA member Cynthia Herbert-Bruschi Adams on the publication of The Red Toque: Love and Loss in the Time of Tito (Strega Press). Herbert-Bruschi Adams’s historical fiction novel is set in eastern Europe beginning in World War II through the postwar era and based on the experiences of a real family.

  • AHA Member Compiles Data on African Americans in Early Woodbury, New Jersey (May 2022)

    May 25, 2022 - 

    AHA member Sue Kozel completed a 206-page report for the Woodbury Public Library, funded by a grant from the New Jersey Council of the Humanities. “Say Our Names: Early African American Life in Woodbury, a part of Deptford Township, NJ, 1770–1830” features alist of 615 African Americans, named and unnamed, from freedom papers, birth records, tax records, enslavement records, Quaker Diaries, merchant logs, abolitionist records, cemetery entries, news reports, and a thorough reading of secondary materials.