Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

The 2020 submission deadline has passed. Awardees will be announced this fall.

Established in 1995, this prize honors the Beveridge family’s long-standing commitment to the AHA and K–12 teaching. Friends and family members endowed this award to recognize excellence and innovation in elementary, middle school, and secondary history teaching, including career contributions and specific initiatives. The prize will be awarded on a two-year cycle rotation: in even-numbered years, to a group; in odd-numbered years, to an individual. See the list of past recipients.

The 2021 prize will be awarded to an individual, who can be recognized either for excellence in teaching or for an innovative initiative applicable to the entire field.

Submission Details

Nominations should include:

  1. A nomination letter describing the individual's contribution, discussing the achievement or innovation in approach and development, and summarizing the historical scholarship utilized. 
  2. A CV
  3. Up to 10 pages of appropriate supporting materials (i.e., additional letters of support, course materials, excerpts from a textbook, or other evidence of contribution)

Nominations must be submitted by May 15, 2021, to be eligible for the 2021 competition. Mailed, emailed, or faxed applications will not be accepted. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2021 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2022 AHA annual meeting in New Orleans.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.