John H. Dunning Prize

The Dunning Prize was created in 1927 by a bequest from Miss Mathilda M. Dunning, stipulating that a prize in American history be established in the name of her father, John H. Dunning. This biennial prize was first awarded in 1929, and has been awarded in odd-numbered years since 1991.

The Dunning Prize is awarded for an outstanding monograph on any subject relating to United States history. The general rules for submission are:

  1. To be eligible for consideration, an entry must be of a scholarly historical nature and must be the author’s first or second book. Research accuracy, originality, and literary merit are important factors.
  2. Only books bearing a copyright of 2013 or 2014 are eligible for the 2015 award.
  3. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  4. No more than five titles from any one publisher may be submitted.
  5. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Dunning Award Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent only to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2015, to be eligible for the 2015 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2016 AHA annual meeting in Atlanta.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Michael Kazin George C. Rable Juliana Barr
Georgetown Univ. 2927 Hawthorne Cir. 3215 53rd St.
Dept. of History Tuscaloosa, AL 35406 Lubbock, TX 79413
3700 O St. NW
Box 571035 - ICC 600
Washington, DC 20057  
Will accept e-book submissions at
Martha A. Sandweiss John W. Sweet
1102 Don Gaspar Ln. 208 Glenburnie St.
Santa Fe, NM 87505 Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Will accept iBook submissions