Committee on Women Historians 2010

by Margaret Strobel

Members of the Committee on Women Historians (CWH) in 2010 were: Margaret Strobel, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago, emerita, chair; Leslie Alexander, Ohio State Univ.; Charles Capper, Boston Univ.; Katherine Hijar, California State Univ. at San Marcos; and Ruby Lal, Emory Univ. Leora Auslander (Univ. of Chicago) will chair the CWH in 2011. Katherine Hijar and Margaret Strobel are rotating off.

Activities at AHA annual meetings
John D’Emilio (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago) spoke at the CWH breakfast in San Diego, 2010, on the struggle for gay marriage, specifically the wisdom (or lack thereof) of pursuing a legal strategy that risks the U.S. Supreme Court issuing a ruling declaring gay marriage to be unconstitutional. The committee also cosponsored a session on the work of Blanche Wiessen Cook.

Janet Afary (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara) spoke at the CWH breakfast in Boston in 2011 on sexuality in Iran, especially tracing how homosexuality has become stigmatized over the course of the 20th century. The committee created two sessions for the 2011 conference: “The Challenges and Opportunities of Teaching Women’s History;” and “Generations: The Past, Present, and Future of Historians of Women and Gender.”  We also cosponsored two linked sessions, on Subalternity and Difference Investigations from India and the United States. 

Survey on the Status of Associate Women Historians 
We collaborated with AHA staff on a survey of associate and full history professors to identify factors involved in equitable and timely promotion from the former to the latter.  The survey results will inform future committee recommendations for possible interventions.