Awards, Prizes, Fellowships, and Grants 2010

Awards for Scholarly Distinction

  • Susan Naquin, Princeton Univ.

  • Peter Stansky, Stanford Univ.

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

  • Arnita A. Jones, executive director emerita, American Historical Association

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Peter H. Wood, Duke Univ.

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

  • Maine East High School, Park Ridge, Illinois

Raymond J. Cunningham Prize

  • Hailey Giczy, 2009 graduate Chapman Univ., “The Bum Blockade: Los Angeles and the Great Depression,” Voces Novae: Chapman University Historical Review, No. 1 (2009): 97–121

Equity Awards

  • Institutional Award: Dept. of History, Baruch Coll., CUNY

  • Individual Award: George Sanchez, Univ. of Southern California

Herbert Feis Award

  • Heather Huyck, Coll. of William and Mary

John E. O’Connor Film Award

  • The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers, produced and directed by Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

  • Christopher D. Lee, Zephryhills High School, Wesley Chapel, Florida

Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History

  • Going to the Show, Scholarly Advisor: Robert C. Allen, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Principal Investigator: Natasha Smith; Project Managers: Elise Moore (2008–09) and Adrienne MacKay (2007–08)

Honorary Foreign Member

  • Takeshi Hamashita, director, Institute of Oriental Culture, Univ. of Tokyo

Book Prizes

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

  • Karl Appuhn, NYU, A Forest on the Sea: Environmental Expertise in Renaissance Venice (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press)

George Louis Beer Prize

  • Holly Case, Cornell Univ., Between States: The Transylvanian Question and the European Idea during World War II (Stanford Univ. Press)

Albert J. Beveridge Award

  • J. R. McNeill, Georgetown Univ., Mosquito Empires: Ecology and War in the Greater Caribbean, 1620–1914 (Cambridge Univ. Press)

Paul Birdsall Prize

  • Jonathan Reed Winkler, Wright State Univ., Nexus: Strategic Communications and American Security in World War I (Harvard Univ. Press)

James Henry Breasted Prize

  • Matthew P. Canepa, Univ. of Minnesota, The Two Eyes of the Earth: Art and Ritual of Kingship between Rome and Sasanian Iran (Univ. of California Press)

Albert B. Corey Prize

  • David L. Preston, The Citadel, The Texture of Contact: European and Indian Settler Communities on the Frontiers of Iroquoia, 1667–1783 (Univ. of Nebraska Press)

John E. Fagg Prize

  • Maria M. Portuondo, Johns Hopkins Univ., Secret Science: Spanish Cosmography and the New World (Univ. of Chicago Press)

John K Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

  • James C. Scott, Yale Univ., The Art of Not Being Governed: An Anarchist History of Upland Southeast Asia (Yale Univ. Press)

Morris D. Forkosch Prize

  • Steve Pincus, Yale Univ., 1688: The First Modern Revolution (Yale Univ. Press)

Leo Gershoy Award

  • Francesca Trivellato, Yale Univ., The Familiarity of Strangers: The Sephardic Diaspora, Livorno, and Cross-Cultural Trade in the Early Modern Period (Yale Univ. Press)

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

  • Susan E. Klepp, Temple Univ., Revolutionary Conceptions: Women, Fertility, and Family Limitation in America, 1760–1820 (Univ. of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture)

Martin A. Klein Prize in African History

  • Ghislaine Lydon (UCLA), On Trans-Saharan Trails: Islamic Law, Trade Networks, and Cross-Cultural Exchange in Nineteenth-Century Western Africa (Cambridge Univ. Press)

Littleton-Griswold Prize

  • Catherine L. Fisk, Univ. of California at Irvine, Working Knowledge: Employee Innovation and the Rise of Corporate Intellectual Property, 1800–1930 (Univ. of North Carolina Press)

  • Lisa Ford, Univ. of New South Wales, Settler Sovereignty: Jurisdiction and Indigenous People in America and Australia, 1788–1836 (Harvard Univ. Press)

J. Russell Major Prize

  • Stuart Carroll, Univ. of York, Martyrs and Murderers: The Guise Family and the Making of Europe (Oxford Univ. Press)

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize

  • Stanislao G. Pugliese, Hofstra Univ., Bitter Spring: A Life of Ignazio Silone (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

George L. Mosse Prize

  • Suzanne L. Marchand, Louisiana State Univ., German Orientalism in the Age of Empire (Cambridge Univ. Press)

Premio del Rey

  • Debra Blumenthal, Univ. of California at Santa Barbara, Enemies and Familiars: Slavery and Mastery in Fifteenth-Century Valencia (Cornell Univ. Press)

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

  • Michael J. Jarvis, Univ. of Rochester, In the Eye of All Trade: Bermuda, Bermudians, and the Maritime Atlantic World, 1680–1683 (Univ. of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture)

James Harvey Robinson Prize

  • German History in Documents and Images, German Historical Institute, Washington, D.C.

Wesley-Logan Prize

  • Pier M. Larson, Johns Hopkins Univ., Ocean of Letters: Language and Creolization in an Indian Ocean Diaspora (Cambridge Univ. Press)