Council Decisions 2009

June 2009

At its meetings in Washington, D.C., June 6 and 7, 2009, the AHA’s Council reached the following decisions:

  • Approved the minutes of the Council meetings held on January 2 and 5, 2009.

  • Unanimously approved nominations of Paul Freedman (Yale Univ.), Jane Kamensky (Brandeis Univ.), Jeremy Popkin (Univ. of Kentucky), and Ruth Rogaski (Vanderbilt Univ.) to the Board of Editors of the American Historical Review.

  • Unanimously approved a one-year delay in providing open access to articles in the American Historical Review.

  • Approved the nominations of Saul Friedlander and Leon Litwack for the Awards for Scholarly Distinction, and of Romila Thapar for the Honorary Foreign Membership.

  • Unanimously approved the establishment of an Equity Award.

  • Unanimously approved suspension of two affiliates (Ukrainian Historical Association and International Commission for the History of Representative and Parliamentary Institutions) that have not responded to requests for updates for more than four years.

  • Approved appointment of the following as members of the 2011 Program Committee: J. D. (Jerome) Bowers (Northern Illinois Univ.); W. Fitzhugh Brundage (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill); Alison Games (Georgetown Univ.); Valerie A. Kivelson (Univ. of Michigan); Ghislaine E. Lydon (UCLA); Lary L. May (Univ. of Minnesota); Peter C. Perdue (Yale Univ.); Bonnie Smith (Rutgers Univ.-New Brunswick); Andrea L. Stanton (New York Univ.); Charles Walker (Univ. of California at Davis). Council had previously approved the appointments of chair Michael Fisher (Oberlin Coll.) and co-chair Barbara Rosenwein (Loyola Univ. Chicago).

  • Approved minor revisions to the Annual Meeting Guidelines, clarifying eligibility requirements for participants in formal sessions and the criteria for designating teaching sessions on the program.

  • Unanimously approved the 2009–10 budget.

  • Unanimously approved new procedures for the appointment of AHA delegates to external commissions, committees, and other groups. Future appointments of delegates will be made by the AHA Executive Committee instead of the Committee on Committees.

  • Approved the establishment of an advisory committee on technology to advise on future technology initiatives and to bring the Association’s web site up-to-date.

  • Approved changes to the annual meeting press policy, allowing press representatives to obtain written permission from speakers onsite rather than in advance.

  • Directed staff to prepare a set of parameters for establishing special interest sections in the Association.

  • Approved a new prize policy, clarifying the eligibility of deceased nominees. The new policy (which comes into effect with the next cycle of awards) reads:

    • Only living persons are eligible for awards to recognize scholarly or professional distinction (Anderson, Asher, Beveridge Family, Feis, Honorary Foreign Member, Roelker, Roosevelt-Wilson, and Scholarly Distinction); however, if the honoree dies after selection but prior to awarding at the upcoming annual meeting, the award can be made posthumously. Eligibility for book prizes, the Gilbert Award, and the O’Connor Film Award are governed by period of publication of the book, article, or film. 

January 2010

At its meetings in San Diego on January 7 and 10, 2010, the AHA’s Council reached the following decisions:

  • Approved the minutes of the June 2009 meeting, as well as the minutes of other online votes and discussions in 2009.

  • Approved the selection of 2010 Honorary Foreign Member.

  • Approved the annual audit report for the 2008–09 fiscal year.

  • Accepted all nomination to AHA committees from the Committee on Committees for 2010.

  • Accepted the applications for affiliation from the National Coalition for Independent Scholars and the Toynbee Prize Foundation.

  • Approved procedures for the establishment of interest groups in the Association.

  • Endorsed the Coalition on the Academic Workforce Issue Brief “One Faculty Serving All Students”.

  • Approved a revised document surveying the organization and jurisdiction of AHA divisions and committees, in light of recent revisions to the Constitution and Bylaws.

  • Approved the practical advice document on “Plotting Your Path to Tenure: What New History Faculty Need to Know” for future publication.

  • Endorsed an advisory document on graduate student health care, also for publication in a future issue of Perspectives on History.

  • Voted to remove the early deadline for multi-session workshops from the Annual Meeting Guidelines.

  • Approved a small change in the name of the Roy Rosenzweig Fellowship for Innovation in Digital History, which more accurately reflects its actual status as a prize.

  • Approved the appointment of Sarah Knott and Konstantin Dierks (both of Indiana Univ.) to serve as interim editors of the American Historical Review during the sabbatical leave of the current editor, Robert A. Schneider.

  • Voted thanks to organizers and participants for the sessions on “Historical Perspectives on Same-Sex Marriage Established for San Diego Annual Meeting” at the 2010 annual meeting.