The 2001 Election

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, I am pleased to report the results of the 2001 election for AHA offices. The committee is extremely grateful to all the candidates, who agreed to stand for Association elective office and committee positions despite other pressing obligations. The Association depends for its continued well-being upon the willingness of its members to serve. Elected candidates are indicated with an asterisk.

President (1-year term)

*Lynn Hunt, UCLA (France, early modern Europe, late modern Europe, cultural, gender), 2,309

President-Elect (1-year term)

Jack P. Greene, Johns Hopkins University (colonial and revolutionary America; early modern British Empire, including West Indies and Ireland; comparative colonialism, plantation societies, slavery, identity; early modern Atlantic), 1,155

*James M. McPherson, Princeton University (Civil War and Reconstruction, slavery and antislavery, race relations in American history), 1,590

Vice President, Professional Division (3-year term)

*William J. Cronon, University of Wisconsin-Madison (U.S. environmental, U.S. West, frontier), 1,403

Alice Kessler-Harris, Columbia University (U.S: social and political history of women, labor and social policy, twentieth century), 1,324

Council, Position 1 (3-year term)

Lonnie G. Bunch, Chicago Historical Society (African American, the urban West, museums and their role in society), 1,156

*Victoria A. Harden, National Institutes of Health and DeWitt Stetten Jr. Museum of Medical Research (history of biomedical research policy in U.S., history of infectious diseases, history of biomedical instrumentation), 1,225

Council, Position 2 (3-year term)

*Stefan Tanaka, University of California, San Diego (modern Japan, historiography, non-Western constructions of identity, intercultural relations), 1,216

John K. Thornton, Millersville University of Pennsylvania (African, African Diaspora, world, Atlantic, military history, history of missions), 1,213

Divisions (3-year terms)

Professional Division

*Peter Charles Hoffer, University of Georgia (early American, legal), 1,229

Jeffrey Merrick, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (early modern France; family, gender, and sexuality; intellectual and cultural), 1,156

Research Division

Gary B. Cohen, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (modern European social history, East-Central Europe 1740–1939, social and political history of Austria and Germany 1790–1939, ethnic group relations and nationalism), 1,074

*Lawrence Wolff, Boston College (Eastern Europe, Enlightenment, Habsburg monarchy, Mediterranean, history of childhood and family, European intellectual and cultural history), 1,231

Teaching Division

*Ellen Furlough, University of Kentucky (modern France, 20th-century European cultural politics, consumer cultures), 1,397

Matthew Restall, Penn State University (colonial Latin America, Atlantic world, gender and ethnicity), 933

Committees (3-year terms)

Committee on Committees

*Carole K. Fink, Ohio State University (European international history, 20th-century Europe, historiography), 1,314

Jane Gilmer Landers, Vanderbilt University (Latin American colonial history, Africans in the Americas, Atlantic, frontier), 1,132

Nominating Committee, Position 1

Luise White, University of Florida (Africa, women’s, medical, nationalism and decolonization, military), 1,031

*Anand A. Yang, University of Utah (South Asia, comparative, Asian American, world), 1,327

Nominating Committee, Position 2

Edward L. Ayers, University of Virginia (U.S. 19th-century, U.S. South, digital history), 1,128

*Patricia Nelson Limerick, University of Colorado, Boulder (Western American, ethnic, environmental, comparative colonialism), 1,489

Nominating Committee, Position 3

*Alice L. Conklin, University of Rochester (modern France, modern Africa, 20th-century Europe, European colonialism, intellectual and cultural history), 1,357

Mack P. Holt, George Mason University (Reformation, early modern Europe, France), 1,063

The 2001 election was affected by the disruption of the postal system caused by the discovery of anthrax-laden letters. The AHA received almost no mail for nearly three weeks at the end of October and the beginning of November. This also affected the ballots for the AHA election that had been mailed but were not delivered to the AHA office by the date stipulated by the AHA constitution, November 1. Following consultation by the AHA Council, the Nominating Committee decided to delay counting so that all ballots postmarked no later than October 31, 2001, and received in the headquarters office by November 30, 2001, could be counted.

Of the 13,389 members of the Association, 2,940 cast ballots before the November 1 deadline, only 90 less than last year. Forty-three ballots postmarked after November 1 were not counted. Survey and Ballot Systems, Inc. of Eden Prairie, Minnesota, scanned the ballots and tabulated the results. Only 11 ballots needed to be hand counted. Some voters registered their opinions about candidates, and the committee will review these criticisms and comments at its next meeting in February 2002.

The committee wishes to thank the staff of the Association, and especially Assistant Director Sharon K. Tune, for her consistent, outstanding work and her expert guidance and advice, without which the committee could not fulfill its responsibilities.

Finally, I wish to thank my fellow committee members, whose combined expertise and broad knowledge of the Association and its membership enabled the nomination process to proceed smoothly and efficiently.

Sara T. Nalle (William Paterson University) was chair of the 2001 Nominating Committee.