The 114th Business Meeting

President Robert Darnton (Princeton Univ.) called the annual business meeting to order at 4:45 p.m. on January 8, 2000, at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel in Chicago. Michael Les Benedict of Ohio State University served as parliamentarian for the meeting.

1. Report of the Executive Director: Arnita A. Jones supplemented her written report, noting that membership had grown steadily during the previous year and that individual membership stood at 14,439. Stating that she began her appointment as executive director in May 1999, Ms. Jones commented on various aspects of the Association. She reported on the fiscal year ending June 30, 1999, noting that the year concluded with a $56,948 surplus. She reported that the AHA newsletter, Perspectives, was flourishing, that the Association had a growing list of pamphlets and other publications, and that advertising revenue had increased. Ms. Jones remarked that she works closely with various coalitions including the American Council of Learned Societies, the Consortium of Social Science Associations, the National Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History (NCC), and the National Humanities Alliance. She stated that the AHA is frequently called upon and plays an important role; she noted, for example, efforts on behalf of the National Endowment for the Humanities to recover its previous funding levels. With regard to the NCC, Ms. Jones reported that Director Page Putnam Miller would retire in May and, on behalf of the Association, thanked Ms. Miller and wished her well. In conclusion, Ms. Jones noted several new initiatives, including the Globalizing Regional Studies conference and creation of task forces on part-time and adjunct employment and graduate education.

2. Report of the Editor: Michael Grossberg (Indiana Univ.), made additional comments to his published report. He stated that the Review had entered online publishing, noting that Mr. Darnton's presidential address would be the first article to be published with enhanced online content. He welcomed members' comments as the online AHR added new features. Stating that the journal is a collaborative effort, he thanked departing members of the Council, especially immediate past president Joseph Miller (Univ. of Virginia). Mr. Grossberg also thanked members of the Board of Editors rotating off in May 2000: Mary Elizabeth Berry (Univ. of California at Berkeley); John R. Gillis (Rutgers Univ.); William Jordan (Princeton Univ.); and Karen Kupperman (New York Univ.). He also thanked Ms. Jones and Robert Townsend, manager of publications, information systems, and research. He encouraged members' comments and recommendations, noting that the Review staff was always in search of manuscripts. In concluding his remarks, he expressed appreciation to Vice President Stanley Katz of the Research Division, which has oversight of the Review. Noting that Mr. Katz had found a way to involve himself intricately in the journal without interfering in its editorial process, Mr. Grossberg stated that Mr. Katz had been invaluable as the Review staff moved to online publishing.

3. Report of the Nominating Committee: Mr. Benedict, a member of the committee, announced the results of the fall election. Eric Foner (Columbia Univ.) and Wm. Roger Louis (Univ. of Texas at Austin) were elected president and president-elect, respectively. Gabrielle Spiegel (Johns Hopkins Univ.) was elected vice president of the Research Division; elected Council members were David W. Blight (Amherst Coll.) and Lillian Guerra (Univ. of Wisconsin at Madison). Divisional members elected were Allen F. Isaacman (Univ. of Michigan), Professional; Mark L. Kornbluh (Michigan State Univ.), Research; and John Pyne (West Milford Township Public Schools), Teaching. Elected to the Committee on Committees were Eileen Boris (Univ. of Virginia) and Cynthia L. Herrup (Duke Univ.). Elected to the Nominating Committee were Michael Adas (Rutgers Univ.), Gary Kates (Trinity Univ.), and Susan Schroeder (Loyola Univ. of New Orleans).

4. Reports of the Vice Presidents: Vice Presidents Stanley N. Katz (Princeton Univ.), Research; Leon Fink (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Teaching; and Barbara D. Metcalf (Univ. of California at Davis), Professional, each reported briefly on the activities of their respective divisions over the course of the past year. Their reports appear elsewhere in this annual report.

5. Other business: Hugh Murray of Milwaukee, Wisc., urged the Association to consider religious heritage in making committee appointments or nominating members for elective office. Mr. Darnton suggested that he write to Ms. Metcalf as the Professional Division has oversight of the AHA's policy statement in this matter, the "Statement on Diversity of AHA Nominations and Appointments."

Mr. Darnton thanked the two groups of volunteers that had worked so diligently to make the annual meeting a success: the Program Committee, chaired by Claire Moses (Univ. of Maryland at College Park) and her co-chair James Henretta (also of Univ. of Maryland), and the Local Arrangements Committee, chaired by Albert Erlebacher (DePaul Univ.) and co-chaired by Joseph C. Morton (Northeastern Illinois Univ.).

Mr. Darnton also thanked the four senior managers who had overseen the headquarters office in the interim between executive directors: Noralee Frankel, Randy Norell, Robert Townsend, and Sharon K. Tune, and the staffs in Washington and in Bloomington. In concluding his term as president, Mr. Darnton observed that the Association was in sound financial shape and that the Council and staff continued to be careful stewards of members' dues.

Accepting the gavel from Mr. Darnton, Mr. Foner expressed appreciation to Mr. Darnton for his leadership. There being no further business, Mr. Foner declared the meeting adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

Recorded by Sharon K. Tune, Assistant Director, Administration