Working Group on Evaluating Public History Scholarship

Past Committee. This committee has completed its work and is no longer active.

Established as a joint working group with the National Council on Public History (NCPH) and Organization of American Historians (OAH) in June 2007. Term ends spring 2009.

Purpose: To advance discussion about evaluating public history work in tenure, promotion, hiring, and other situations. The group is currently gathering information on promotion and tenure standards at various universities and will submit a substantive, contextualized report to the governing body of each organization in spring 2009. The goal of the report is to open up the ways in which history departments and other organizations think about historical research, writing, and education beyond the monograph, peer-reviewed article, and classroom.

Assignment to division: Reports on its work to the Professional Division.

2 AHA members, 2 NCPH members, 2 OAH members


From the AHA

  • Kristin Ahlberg (U.S. Dept. of State)
  • Edward Countryman (Southern Methodist Univ.)


  • Kathleen Franz (American Univ.)
  • Bill Bryans (Oklahoma State Univ.)

From OAH

  • Gregory Smoak (Colorado State Univ.)
  • Connie Schulz (Univ. of South Carolina)


  • AHA: Debbie Ann Doyle, public history coordinator
  • NCPH: John Dichtl, executive director
  • OAH: Susan Ferentinos, public history manager