Nominating Committee

Established: By the Constitution and elected by the membership.

Purpose: Makes nominations for all elective posts in the AHA, oversees the counting of ballots, and reports the results of the election to the membership. The Committee’s work is governed by the Constitution and Bylaws and informed by the Statement on Diversity in AHA Nominations and Appointments, adopted by the Council December 1990, revised in June 2001.

Membership: 9 members (See the list of past members.)

Assignment to Division: None. Reports on its work to the Council.


Laurent M. Dubois, Duke Univ., chair
Carin Berkowitz, New Jersey Council for the Humanities
Kathleen Anne Brosnan, Univ. of Oklahoma
Purnima Dhavan, Univ. of Washington, Seattle
Daniel A. Greene, Newberry Library
Susannah R. Ottaway, Carleton Coll.
Gabriel Paquette, Univ. of Oregon
Akiko Takenaka, Univ. of Kentucky
Karin A. Wulf, Omohundro Institute


Liz Townsend, Coordinator, Data Administration and Integrity