Committee on the Harold Vyvyan Harmsworth Professorship in American History

Established: 1939

Purpose: To assist the Electors of Oxford in their selection of the Harmsworth Professor. More information can be found at

Membership: 5 members. The committee consists of the president, president-elect, and the three most recently returned Harmsworth Professors.

Assignment to Division: None. Reports on its work to the Council.