Committee on Minority Historians

Established: 1990

Purpose: To advocate for a more inclusive profession by representing the interest and concerns of minority historians; to foster an inclusive scholarship that challenges and transforms the practice of history, both substantively and methodologically; to work with other committees within the Association and to support the Association’s outreach to public history organizations and K–12 teachers.

Membership: 5 members, including one graduate student or early career professional. Committee meets twice a year by teleconference with CMH members serving a minimum of three years. New members will be added on a staggered yearly basis.

Assignment to Division: Reports on its work to the Council, works with appropriate divisions and committees on specific issues.


Sharika Crawford, US Naval Academy, co-chair
Farina King, Univ. of Oklahoma, co-chair
Antwain Hunter, Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Suzy Kim, Rutgers, The State Univ. of New Jersey
Edward Polanco, Virginia Tech


Debbie Ann Doyle, Director of Meetings