Historians Making News

This space highlights the accomplishments of historians. Members and non-member historians are encouraged to submit news about prizes, promotions, honors, tenure, and new jobs. Entries to be considered for inclusion on "Historians Making News" can be about yourself, another historian, or group of historians. AHA staff will review all submissions.

"The Grisley Work of VA Secretaries"

January 19, 2017 - Jessica Adler, assistant professor of history at Florida International University, composed a piece for The Hill on the nomination of David Shulkin as Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).

Member News, January 2017

  • Jens R. Hentschke published two monographs: Positivismo ao estilo gaúcho: a ditadura de Júlio de Castilhos e seu impacto sobre a construção do Estado e da nação no Brasil de Getúlio Vargas (Porto Alegre: EdiPUCRS, 2016), and Philosophical Polemics, School Reform, and Nation-Building in Uruguay, 1868-1915: Reforma Vareliana and Batllismo From a Transnational Perspective (Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2016).
  • Hunter Jones has been accepted by Past Preservers Casting. Additionally, her historical book entitled In Bed With The British is under contract with U.K. publisher Pen & Sword Books, with a publication announcement to be made in the near future.
  • E. M. Rose has been named the winner of Phi Beta Kappa Society annual Ralph Waldo Emerson book award for The Murder of William of Norwich: The Origins of the Blood Libel in Medieval Europe (Oxford University Press, 2015). The Emerson Award honors scholarly studies that contribute significantly to interpretations of the intellectual and cultural condition of humanity, including works in the fields of history, philosophy and religion as well as the social sciences.
  • Catherine Eagleton has been named new associate director for curatorial affairs at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. Eagleton, earned her doctorate at the University of Cambridge, join the museum from the British Library. Before joining the British Library, Eagleton was a curator at the British Museum.
  • Jerry Proust, Visiting Assistant Professor at Marquette University, published an op-ed in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on infrastructure spending under Donald Trump.

NEH Grants Support Historians Expanding Access to the Humanities

January 13, 2017 - Two dozen AHA members, along with many other historians, received fellowships and grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities in recent weeks. Among other groups, this round of awards supports cultural programs for disadvantaged populations; digitization of events at local cultural institutions; and researchers at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-Serving Institutions, and Tribal Colleges and Universities. Find the full list of grant winners on the NEH website.

"Why We Need a Monument to Reconstruction"

December 14, 2016 - Gregory Downs, Eric Foner, and Kate Masur have written a New York Times op-ed urging President Obama to create a National Park Service monument to Reconstruction in Beaufort, SC. In November, AHA sent a letter to US Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell in support of the monument.

Member Represents the AHA

December 9, 2016 - Allyson Poska will represent the AHA at the April 21, 2017 inauguration of Troy Paino as the tenth president of the University of Mary Washington.

2016 National Book Awards

November 30, 2016 - Ibram X. Kendi, assistant professor of African American History at the University of Florida, has won the 2016 National Book Award for Nonfiction for Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America (Nation Books). Historians Heather Ann Thompson and Andrés Reséndez were named finalists for the prize.

Kendi, Thompson, and Reséndez are AHA members.

"The Trump Protests Have Reinvigorated the American Radical Tradition"

November 21, 2016 - In response to the recent presidential election, AHA member Jim Downs (associate professor of history at Connecticut College) has penned an article for Slate Magazine on the history of protests in the United States.

Daina Ramey Berry Pens Op-Ed in New York Times

October 18, 2016 - Daina Ramey Berry, associate professor of history and African diaspora studies at the University of Texas at Austin, discusses the practice of collecting body parts of deceased slaves as "trophies" or heirlooms, and how returning these relics can help restore healing and justice. 

Peter Kastor Interviewed on Presidential Debates in History

October 12, 2016 - Peter Kastor, a professor of history and American culture studies at Washington University in St. Louis, was invited to discuss political debate history on a recent episode of St. Louis on the Air. Kastor also serves as principal investigator for a major digital archive entitled "Creating a Federal Government."

"The Shady History of Big Sugar"

September 21, 2016 - On September 16, the New York Times published an op-ed by historian David Singerman about the history of "Big Sugar."

Historian Interviewed on MJs Minute

September 21, 2016 - Antoinette Burton, professor of history at the University of Illinois and chair of the 2018 Annual Meeting Program Committee, was interviewed about the importance of the humanities on MJs Minute, a video column for Illinois's News-Gazette.

Historian Engages Perspectives Article in Own Advocacy on Teaching

In "What does historical thinking mean? Why does it matter?", historian Robert Roy Foresman (North Dakota State Univ.) reflects on "Graduate Education Reconsidered" (Perspectives, April 2016) and considers its application to his own teaching.

NEH Grantees Announced

August 30, 2016 - Celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has announced 290 humanities projects in 15 categories that will receive $79 million in grant funds. AHA members received grants in the following categories: Next Generation PhDs, Public Scholar Program, Scholarly Editions and Translations, Collaborative Research, Institutes for Colleges and University Teachers, Institutes for School Teachers, Seminars for College Teachers, Seminars for School Teachers, State Humanities Councils Grants, Digital Humanities Implementation Grants, Exhibitions Grants, and Landmarks of American History.

New Members Appointed to the Institute for Advanced Study

August 19, 2016 - Fifty-one historians were appointed as Members in the School of Historical Studies at the Institute for Advanced Study for the 2016–17 academic year, including AHA members Hwisang Cho, Jennifer Davis, Thomas Dodman, Priscilla Roberts, Daniel Sherman, Nancy Sinkoff and Mark Tauger, as well as 18 international scholars from institutions as far away as China and Jordan. Find the full list on the IAS website.

Local Historians Fight to Commemorate 'Little Syria'

August 8, 2016 - A small group of historians are working to gain recognition for New York City's first community of Arab immigrants. First established in the 1880s, the neighborhood became a "thriving literary community." Read more from Gothamist.com.

Archived News