Historians Making News

This space highlights the accomplishments of historians. Members and non-member historians are encouraged to submit news about prizes, promotions, honors, tenure, and new jobs. Entries to be considered for inclusion on "Historians Making News" can be about yourself, another historian, or group of historians. AHA staff will review all submissions.

New Members Appointed to the Institute for Advanced Study

August 19, 2016- Fifty-one historians were appointed as Members in the School of Historical Studies at the Institute for Advanced Study for the 2016–17 academic year, including AHA members Hwisang Cho, Jennifer Davis, Thomas Dodman, Priscilla Roberts, Daniel Sherman, Nancy Sinkoff and Mark Tauger, as well as 18 international scholars from institutions as far away as China and Jordan. Find the full list on the IAS website.

Local Historians Fight to Commemorate 'Little Syria'

August 8, 2016 - A small group of historians are working to gain recognition for New York City's first community of Arab immigrants. First established in the 1880s, the neighborhood became a "thriving literary community." Read more from Gothamist.com.

2016–17 National Humanities Center Fellows

August 5, 2016 - Thirteen historians were appointed as National Humanities Center Fellows for the 2016–17 academic year, including AHA members Laurent Dubois, Christopher Grasso, Miguel La Serna, Tatiana Seijas, Cynthia Talbot, and Shellen Wu.

2016 Kluge Fellows Announced

August 2, 2016 - The John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress has announced its 2016 Kluge Fellows, who are awarded a generous stipend to conduct research using Library of Congress resources for a period of four to eleven months. Seven historians are among the winners: Christy Chapin, Benjamin Cowan, Luke Harlow, Margarita Karnysheva, Erik Linstrum, Alan Noonan, and Kristen Shedd.

NEH Chronicling America Data Challenge

August 2, 2016 - The National Endowment for the Humanities announced six recipients of the Chronicling America Data Challenge, which challenges members of the public to produce creative web-based projects using data pulled from Chronicling America, the digital repository of historic U.S. newspapers. AHA members Lincoln Mullen, Amy Giroux, and Claudio Saunt placed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, respectively. AP U.S. History students at Sunapee High School (Sunapee, NH) received the K-12 student prize.

New Members Elected to the American Philosophical Society

July 28, 2016 - AHA members Thomas C. Holt (James Westfall Thompson Distinguished Service Professor of American and African American History, University of Chicago) and Richard White (Margaret Byrne Professor of American History, Stanford University) were elected as members to the American Philosophical Society at the organization's Annual Spring Meeting in Philadelphia.

House Designates the National George C. Marshall Museum and Library

July 28, 2016 - On July 11, the US House of Representatives passed a resolution congressionally designating the George C. Marshall Museum and the George C. Marshall Research Library in Lexington, Va., as the National George C. Marshall Museum and Library. The Marshall Museum and Research Library began in 1953 and recently completed the seven-volume collection The Papers of George Catlett Marshall. The president of the George C. Marshall Foundation, which manages the Museum and Library, is AHA member Rob Havers.

CLIR Names 2016 Postdoctoral Fellows

July 28, 2016 - The Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) offers a Postdoctoral Fellowship Program to recent PHD graduates to gain opportunities working with new research tools and educational technologies. Among the 2016 cohort of CLIR fellows are AHA members Heather Wacha (University of Wisconsin-Madison), who earned a PhD in Medieval History from the University of Iowa; and Jeffrey Wayno, a PhD in History from Columbia University.

Archived News