Education and Health

There are two school systems in Alaska—the federal schools, operated by the federal government for the natives, and the Territorial schools, operated by the Territory in cooperation with the incorporated towns. The Territorial schools compare well with those in the States, and have the usual eight years of grade school and four years of high school. The federal schools do not ordinarily go beyond the eighth grade. Fully accredited college courses are given at the University of Alaska, at College, near Fairbanks—liberal arts courses and special training in mining and agriculture. There has been some discussion of locating a branch of the university in southeastern Alaska.

Hospitals exist in many communities, supported by the community, churches, or the United States Public Health Service.