This project was made possible by the generous financial support of the National Endowment for the Humanities and a seed grant provided by the Office of the Provost at Fairleigh Dickinson University.

We are especially grateful to Krista Jenkins (Pew Charitable Trusts), who, in her former role as professor of political science at Fairleigh Dickinson University and director of the FDU Poll, provided leadership in developing the survey instrument and interpreting the results.

Thanks are owed as well to Scott Keeter, who reviewed drafts of the survey and provided helpful feedback.

The National Endowment for the Humanities logo

The logo of Fairleigh Dickinson University


Project Leadership

Peter BurkholderPeter Burkholder (PhD, University of Minnesota) is professor of history at Fairleigh Dickinson University. He has received distinguished faculty awards for both teaching and research at FDU, and he is the recipient of the American Historical Association’s William and Edwyna Gilbert Award for the best article on teaching the past. Burkholder serves on the national advisory board of the Society for History Education, the editorial board of The Teaching Professor, and the consulting editorial board of College Teaching.

Dana SchafferDana Schaffer (MA, American University) is deputy director of the American Historical Association. Prior to joining the AHA staff in 2013, Schaffer served as the assistant director at the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition at Yale University. She previously coordinated educational programs for the Smithsonian Associates and directed an oral history project on the 1968 unrest in Washington, DC. Schaffer currently serves as chair of the Advisory Committee for National History Day and as treasurer for the National Coalition for History.

← Previous section