The 122nd annual meeting of the Association was held January 3-6, 2008, in Washington, DC, at the Marriott Wardman Park, the Omni Shoreham, and the Hilton Washington. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers and more than 1,774 participants, including 175 from other countries, participated in the four-day meeting. In addition, 54 specialized societies and organizations met in conjunction with the AHA. Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, or meetings, as well as some joint sessions with the Association. Barbara Weinstein of New York University delivered the presidential address the evening of January 4, and the Association’s book awards, Awards for Scholarly Distinction, the Troyer Steele Anderson Prize, the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award, the Beveridge Family Teaching Prize, the Gilbert Award, the Feis Award, the John E. O’Connor Film Award, the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award, and the 2007 Honorary Foreign Member were announced.