The 118th annual meeting of the Association was held January 8–11, 2004, in Washington, D.C., at the Marriott Wardman Park, the Omni Shoreham, and the Hilton Washington. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers and more than 1,300 scholars—including 117 foreign scholars—participated in the four-day meeting. In addition, 49 specialized societies and organizations met in conjunction with the AHA. Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, or meetings, as well as some joint sessions with the Association. James M. McPherson of Princeton University delivered the presidential address the evening of January 9, and the Association’s book awards, Awards for Scholarly Distinction, the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award, the Beveridge Family Teaching Prize, the Gilbert Award, the Gutenberg-e Awards, the John E. O’Connor Film Award, and the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award were announced.