The Association’s 117th annual meeting was held in Chicago from January 2–5, 2003 at the Hilton Chicago and Palmer House Hilton. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers and more than 1,100 scholars, including 97 foreign scholars, participated in the three-day meeting. In addition, more than four dozen specialized societies met in conjunction with the AHA, Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, and/or meetings, as well as some joint sessions with the Association. Lynn Hunt of the University of California at Los Angeles delivered the presidential address the evening of January 3 and the Association’s book awards, Awards for Scholarly Distinction, the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award, the Beveridge Family Teaching Prize, the Gutenberg-e Prizes, the John E, O’Connor Film Award, the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award, and the Honorary Foreign Members were announced.