The Association’s 113th annual meeting was held in Washington, D.C., from January 7–10, 1999, at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel (formerly Sheraton Washington) and the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers, and more than 800 scholars, including 107 foreign scholars, participated in the three-day meeting. In addition, more than three dozen specialized societies met in conjunction with the AHA. Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, or meetings, as well as joint sessions with the Association. Joseph C. Miller of the University of Virginia delivered the presidential address on the evening of January 8. The recipients of the 1998 book awards, honorary foreign membership, the Awards for Scholarly Distinction, the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award, the Beveridge Family Teaching Prize, the John E. O’Connor Film Award, and the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award were also announced.