Presidential Addresss



The Association’s 111th annual meeting was held in New York City from January 2–5, 1997, at the New York Hilton at Rockefeller Center and the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers and over 700 scholars, including 96 foreign scholars, participated in the three-day meeting. In addition, over two dozen specialized societies met in conjunction with the AHA. Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, and/or meetings, as well as joint sessions with the Association. Caroline Walker Bynum delivered the presidential address on the evening of January 3, and the recipients of the 1996 book awards, honorary foreign membership, the Awards for Scholarly Distinction, the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award, the John O’Connor Film Award, the William Gilbert Award, and the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award were announced.