The Association’s 106th annual meeting was held in Chicago, Illinois, from December 27–30, 1991, headquartered at the Chicago Hilton and Towers. Many of the profession’s most distinguished members were present to deliver papers, and over 700 scholars, including 56 foreign scholars, participated in the three-day meeting. In addition, over two dozen specialized societies met in conjunction with the AHA. Each society held its own sessions, luncheons, and/or meetings, as well as joint sessions with the Association. William F. Leuchtenburg of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, delivered the presidential address on the evening of December 28, and the recipients of the 1991 book awards, honorary foreign membership, Awards for Scholarly Distinction, and the Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award were announced.