News Topic

Members Making News

Congratulations to AHA members Lonnie Bunch (Smithsonian Institution), who was awarded the Society of American Historians’ (SAH) Tony Horwitz Prize “honoring distinguished work in American history of wide appeal and enduring public significance”; Christopher Tomlins (Univ. of California, Berkeley), for winning the Francis Parkman Prize “honoring literary merit in the writing of history”for In the Matter of Nat Turner: A Speculative History; and Brianna Nofil (Coll. of William and Mary), who won the Allan Nevins Dissertation Prize for “Detention Power: Jails, Camps, and the Origins of Immigrant Incarceration, 1900-2002.” And congratulations to the five AHA members newly elected as fellows of the SAH: Daina Ramey Berry (Univ. of Texas, Austin), Crystal N. Feimster (Yale Univ.), Madeline Y. Hsu (Univ. of Texas, Austin), Claire Bond Potter (New School), and Claudio Saunt (Univ. of Georgia).