Historians Making News: 2020 Archive

  • AHA Member Publishes Articles on Post-pandemic Planning and #MeToo (May 2020)

    May 15, 2020 - 

    AHA member Rachel Wheeler (Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ., Indianapolis) recently published an article in Inside Higher Ed on post-pandemic planning and a piece on the fallout of academic #MeToo in Women in Higher Ed.

  • AHA Members Win ACLS Project Development Grants (May 2020)

    May 14, 2020 - 

    Congratulations to AHA members Jaclyn Sumner (Presbyterian Coll.) and Louie Dean Valencia-García (Texas State Univ.), who were among the 15 awardees selected for the American Council of Learned Societies' Project Development Grants program. These grants are awarded to university faculty whose proposed research projects have the potential to advance significantly their areas of study in the humanities.

  • AHA Members Announced as Mellon/ACLS Fellows (May 2020)

    May 14, 2020 - 

    Four AHA members were recently named as 2020 Mellon/ACLS Community College Faculty Fellows by the American Council of Learned Societies, including AHA Council member Shannon T. Bontrager (Georgia Highlands Coll., Cartersville). Congratulations to Shannon and to Emily Brooks (Graduate Center, CUNY), Karen R. Miller (La Guardia Comm. Coll., CUNY), and William A. Morgan (Lone Star Coll., Montgomery). These fellowships recognize humanities faculty who teach at two-year institutions and their indispensable contributions to scholarship, teaching, and their communities.

  • AHA Member Wins Lester J. Cappon Award (May 2020

    May 13, 2020 - 

    AHA member Rachel Wheeler (Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. Indianapolis) has won the Lester J. Cappon Award for the best article published in 2019 in the William and Mary Quarterly for her co-authored article, "Singing Box 331: Re-Sounding Eighteenth-Century Mohican Hymns from the Moravian Archives." The Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture awards this prize annually.

  • AHA Member Hosts PBS Special Segment (May 2020)

    May 13, 2020 - 

    Today, states plan to reopen even as the coronavirus crisis continues to grow. This impulse has a history: it's what many towns did during the flu pandemic of 1918. In this special documentary short, AHA member Ed Ayers, host of the PBS series The Future of America's Past, offers a snapshot view of Richmond, Virginia's experience with the 1918 flu. The special segment was released Friday, May 8, via PBS and NPR. 

  • AHA Member Awarded ASECS Gottschalk Prize (May 2020)

    May 12, 2020 - 

    AHA member Katie Jarvis (Univ. of Notre Dame) has been awarded the 2020 Louis A. Gottschalk Prize for her book Politics in the Marketplace: Work, Gender, and Citizenship in Revolutionary France (Oxford Univ. Press, 2019). The Gottschalk Prize is given annually to the best scholarly book on an 18th-century subject in any discipline. 

  • AHA Member Receives Carnegie Fellowship (May 2020)

    May 12, 2020 - 

    AHA member Bathsheba Demuth (Brown Univ.) is the recipient of one of 22 prestigious Andrew Carnegie Fellowships. The Andrew Carnegie Fellowship Program provides one of the most generous research stipends of its kind, and rewards a select few scholars whose research in the humanities is original, impactful, and addresses important issues in society.

  • AHA Member Awarded Humanities Grant from NEH (May 2020)

    May 12, 2020 - 

    Congratulations to AHA member Jennifer Speed (Univ. of Dayton), who was awarded a Humanities Connections Implementation Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities for a project on Paul Laurence Dunbar. These grants are awarded to support the preservation of collections, exhibitions in the humanities, and other scholarly research.

  • AHA Member Wins Pulitzer Prize in History (May 2020)

    May 05, 2020 - 

    AHA member W. Caleb McDaniel (Rice Univ.) has won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in History for his book Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America (Oxford Univ. Press).  McDaniel's book was noted as "a masterfully researched meditation on reparations based on the remarkable story of a 19th century woman who survived kidnapping and re-enslavement to sue her captor."

  • AHA Members among 2020 SAH Fellows (May 2020)

    May 01, 2020 - 

    The Society of American Historians recently elected its 2020 fellows. Eight members of the AHA were among the honorees. Congratulations to Carol Anderson (Emory Univ.), Gordon H. Chang (Stanford Univ.), Ariela J. Gross (Univ. of Southern California), Ari Kelman (Univ. of California, Davis), Kevin M. Kruse (Princeton Univ.), Mae M. Ngai (Columbia Univ.), Valerie Paley (New-York Historical Society), and Kim Phillips-Fein (New York Univ.).

  • AHA Members Elected to 2020 Class of the Academy of Arts and Sciences (April 2020)

    Apr 24, 2020 - 

    Congratulations to AHA members Tomiko Brown-Nagin (Harvard Univ.), Michael Kazin (Georgetown Univ.), Erika Lee (Univ. of Minnesota, Twin Cities), Alondra Nelson (Institute for Advanced Study), Eve M. Troutt Powell (Univ. of Pennsylvania), Craig Steven Wilder (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology), and Louise Young (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison), who were recently elected to the 2020 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  These members are among the 276 exceptionally accomplished artists, scholars, scientists, and leaders to be honored by the Academy and engaged in advancing the public good.

  • AHA Members Named 2020 ACLS-Mellon Fellows (April 2020)

    Apr 24, 2020 - 

    AHA members Jennifer L. Anderson (State Univ. of New York, Stony Brook), Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof (Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor), and Treva B. Lindsey (Ohio State Univ., Columbus) have been named 2020 Mellon/ACLS Scholars and Society Fellows.  The fellowships, funded through the Mellon Foundation and the American Council of Learned Societies, reward outstanding scholars dedicated to the public good by supporting twelve projects that demonstrate the dynamic role humanistic scholarship plays beyond academic settings.

  • AHA Member Holloway Appointed President of Rutgers University

    Jan 30, 2020 - 

    Jonathan Holloway, AHA member and provost of Northwestern University, has been appointed the 21st president of Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey. Following appointments at Northwestern University and Yale University, Holloway will begin serving as president of the university on July 1, 2020.