Edward Cohn, Grinnell Coll., co-chair
Jessica Pearson, Macalester Coll., co-chair
Ernesto Capello, Macalester Coll.
Jordana Dym, Skidmore Coll.
Melissa K. Byrnes, Southwestern Univ.


Staff Contact

Lauren BrandAHR Reviews Editor

Established: 2024

Purpose: This working group plans and advises on AHA activities and programming of interest to history faculty at small liberal arts colleges (SLACs), working to build a stronger sense of community, to create venues to discuss pedagogical and professional issues of common concern, and to connect SLAC faculty to the broader historical community and the AHA. The group’s work includes organizing regular programming at the AHA annual meeting or online activities, investigating additional avenues for building community among faculty (including possible collaborations with other consortia and organizations and the creation of a listserv or online community), and communicating with and supporting the AHA leadership on the needs and interests of SLAC history faculty.

Membership: The working group consists of 5-6 SLAC faculty members with three-year staggered terms, including two co-chairs serving two-year staggered terms. Council appoints members to the working group. Appointed members will be selected from a slate of candidates recommended by the current working group members.

Assignment to Division: AHA Council