Review Committee Members

Steven Mintz, Univ. of Texas, Austin and Hunter Coll., CUNY, chair
Kathy Callahan, Murray State Univ.
Anne Chao, Rice Univ.
Cassandra Clark, Univ. of Utah
Carlos Contreras, Grossmont Coll.
Richard Hines, American Public Univ. System

Drafting Subcommittee Members

Steven Mintz, Univ. of Texas, Austin and Hunter Coll., CUNY, chair
Kevin Gannon, Grand View Univ.
Christina Ghanbarpour, Saddleback Coll.
Bryan McDonald, Penn State Univ.
Brandon Morgan, Central New Mexico Comm. Coll.

Jan Reiff, chair, 2019–21

Staff Contact

Emily Swafford, Director, Academic & Professional Affairs

Past Committee. This committee has completed its work and is no longer active.

Established: 2019

Purpose: The committee will survey existing models for online instruction and use its findings to inform a practical set of guidelines for departments. The guidelines will describe practices likely to be useful for departments and faculty who design online courses or teach online. In addressing the needs of online instructors, including part-time and non-tenure-track faculty, the committee should consider the different types of institutions and departments in which online teaching takes place, and the diversity of content and form of online instruction. The document will include resources for the design, implementation, and assessment of online teaching. The guidelines will articulate how online teaching embraces the standards for rigor and excellence outlined in previous AHA statements. Chair and members appointed by the Teaching Division.

Assignment to Division: Teaching Division


Final Report

Guidelines for Online Teaching (2022)