Submissions Are Closed

Award Type


The Justin Winsor Prize was the first prize established by the American Historical Association. Initially awarded in 1896, it was offered annually thereafter until 1906 and then biennially until 1930, when it was discontinued. The Winsor Prize was revived in 1936 only to be cancelled two years later when the Albert J. Beveridge Award was created.

Justin Winsor (1831–97), in whose honor the prize was created, was the third president of the Association (1886–87). The prize was established in recognition of his contributions to American history and historical geography and focused on the history of the Western Hemisphere. The prize sought to encourage and acknowledge previously unpublished authors and young scholars without an established reputation in the profession and carried the then-substantial award of $200.