Submissions Are Closed

Deadline: May 15, 2026

Award Type

Award for Publications

The Haring Prize is a quinquennial prize awarded to the Latin American author who has published the most outstanding book on Latin American history during the five years preceding the year of the award.

The current prize amount is $1,000.

The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright between 2021 and 2025 will be eligible for the prize in 2026.
  2. There is no language limitation on works submitted, however, preference will be given to books written in one of the languages of Latin America.
  3. Preference will be given to authors whose primary affiliation is to a Latin American institution.
  4. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  5. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted. Once you fill out the form you will receive an email with the committee’s contact information.
  6. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Haring Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2026, to be eligible for the 2026 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2026 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2027 AHA annual meeting.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Clarence Haring
Clarence Haring

Clarence Haring (1885–1960) was a noted Latin Americanist and a longtime member of the Association. Capital for the prize was derived from contributions from the friends of Clarence H. Haring and from other grants between 1963 and 1966.