Submissions Are Closed

Deadline: May 15, 2024

Award Type

Award for Scholarly and Professional Distinction

Established in 1995, this prize honors the Beveridge family’s long-standing commitment to the AHA and K–12 teaching. Friends and family members endowed this award to recognize excellence and innovation in elementary, middle school, and secondary history teaching, including career contributions and specific initiatives.

The prize will be awarded on a two-year cycle rotation: in even-numbered years, to a group; in odd-numbered years, to an individual. The current prize amount is $1,000. See the list of past recipients.

The 2024 prize will be awarded to a group, who can be recognized either for excellence in teaching or for an innovative initiative applicable to the entire field.


Application Process

Log into your MY AHA account at and click “Available Application Forms” in the AHA Awards, Grants, and Jobs section. If you don’t have an account, create one for free at If nominating someone else, select the Nominate button and search for the nominee’s existing record or create a new record. (For a group project, select one person to be the main nominee and include other names later.)

  1. Fill in the application form, which includes the nominee’s contact information and the names of additional nominees (if group nomination).
  2. Upload an Application Packet as a single PDF. Include the following documents:
    • Nomination letter describing the individual’s or group’s contribution, discussing the achievement or innovation in approach and development, and summarizing the historical scholarship utilized
    • CV highlighting educational experience, teaching, and advocacy of the nominee (for the individual award)
    • Supporting materials (up to 10 pages), such as additional letters of support, course materials, excerpts from a textbook, or other evidence of contribution

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2024, to be eligible for the 2024 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2024 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2025 AHA annual meeting in New York.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.