Society of Civil War Historians

Established: 1985. Membership: 600. Join the Society.

Statement of Purpose: The Society of Civil War Historians (SCWH) was founded in 1984. It seeks to promote the study of the Civil War era and to bring greater coherence to the field by encouraging the integration of social, military, political, and other forms of history. The Society organizes a biennial conference; awards the Tom Watson Brown Prize for the best book on Civil War era history; the Anne J. Baily Dissertation Award; the biennial Anthony E. Kaye Memorial Essay Award; and the outstanding graduate student paper given at the SCWH conference. Members receive subscriptions to the Journal of the Civil War Era.

Annual Meeting: June in even-numbered years

Publication: Journal of the Civil War Era, quarterly

Website: https://sites.psu.edu/scwhistorians/

Primary Contact: James Marten, james.marten@marquette.edu

Officers

President
Joan Waugh
Univ. of California, Los Angeles
E-mail: jwaugh@history.ucla.edu

President-elect
Lesley J. Gordon
Univ. of Alabama
E-mail: ljgordon1@ua.edu

Executive Director
James Marten
Marquette Univ.
E-mail: james.marten@marquette.edu

Secretary-Treasurer
Stephen D. Engle
Florida Atlantic Univ., Boca Raton
E-mail: engle@fau.edu

Editor, Journal of the Civil War Era
Gregory P. Downs
Univ. of California, Davis
E-mail: gdowns@ucdavis.edu

Editor, Journal of the Civil War Era
Kate Masur
Northwestern Univ.
E-mail: kmasur@northwestern.edu

Updated 11/15/21