Organization of American Historians

Established: 1907. Affiliate since May 1993. Membership: 7,800. Annual dues: $45 student; $45 emeritus or retired; $60 to $200 regular membership depending on income.

Statement of Purpose: The OAH is an association of historians dedicated to the promotion of teaching and scholarship about the history of the United States both before and after its formation as a nation-state. The organization pursues these goals by encouraging and supporting excellence in historic research, interpretation, and publication; advancing the teaching and practice of American history at all levels and in all settings; promoting the widest possible access to historical sources and scholarship and the widest possible discussion of historical questions and controversies, including advocacy for professional scholarly standards where appropriate; generating support for the preservation, dissemination, and exhibition of sources dealing with the history of the United States; and encouraging respectful and equitable treatment for all practitioners of history.

Annual Meeting: March or April

Publications: Journal of American History, quarterly; The American Historian, quarterly; OAH Update biweekly enewsletter; Annual Meeting Program

Website: http://www.oah.org/

Address
Organization of American Historians
112 N. Bryan Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47408-4141
Phone: 812.855.7311

Primary Contact: Katherine Finley, kmfinley@oah.org

Officers

President
Edward L. Ayers
Univ. of Richmond
E-mail: eayers@richmond.edu

President-elect
Earl Lewis
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
E-mail: el@mellon.org

Vice President
Joanne Meyerowitz
Yale Univ.
E-mail: joanne.meyerowitz@yale.edu

Treasurer
Jay S. Goodgold
Independent Investor

Executive Director
Katherine Mandusic Finley
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: kmfinley@oah.org

Executive Editor
Benjamin H. Irvin
Indiana Univ.
E-mail: bhirvin@indiana.edu

Managing Editor, Journal of American History
Stephen Douglas Andrews
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: standrew@indiana.edu

Meetings Director
Hajnalka Gajdacs Selby
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: hselby@oah.org

Membership Director
Elisabeth M. Marsh
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: emarsh@oah.org

Lectureship Program Coordinator
Annette Windhorn
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: awindhorn@oah.org

Editor, The American Historian
Jonathan Warner
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: jonwarne@oah.org