H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine

Established: 1993. Membership: 180,000+. Annual dues: None.

Statement of Purpose: H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine is an international consortium of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous potential of the Internet and World Wide Web in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. H-Net is committed to pioneering the use of new communication technology to facilitate the free exchange of academic ideas and scholarly resources. Among H-Net’s most important activities is its sponsorship of over 180 free, discussion networks (“lists”), which are edited by scholars worldwide (in North America, Europe, Africa, Latin America, Asia, and the Pacific) making H-Net the world’s largest distributor of academic discussion networks. The goals of H-Net lists are to enable scholars to easily communicate current research and teaching interests; to discuss new approaches, methods, and tools of analysis; to share information on electronic databases; and to test new ideas and share comments on the literature in their fields. These networks provide a timely distribution of announcements, scholarly book reviews, teaching materials, and other breaking news in the discipline. H-Net also offers such services as a weekly job guide and an academic announcements bulletin board. Logs of all messages are permanently saved and can be easily searched from the H-Net website.

Publications: 180+ electronic discussion networks (http://www.h-net.org/lists/); H-Net Reviews (http://www.h-net.org/reviews/); H-Net's Job Guide for the Humanities and Social Sciences (http://www.h-net.org/jobs/); H-Announce academic announcements portal (http://www.h-net.org/announce/)

Website: http://www.h-net.org/

Address
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
506 E. Circle Dr.
141H Old Horticulture Bldg.
East Lansing, MI 48824-1115
Phone: 517.432.5134

Primary Contact: Peter Knupfer, pknupfer@gmail.com

Officers

President
Ryan Dunch
Univ. of Alberta
E-mail: ryan.dunch@ualberta.ca

President-elect
Charles V. Reed
Elizabeth City State Univ.
E-mail: chas.reed@gmail.com

Past President
Jean A. Stuntz
West Texas A&M Univ.
E-mail: jstuntz@wtamu.edu

Vice President, Networks
Patrick Cox
Rutgers Univ., Camden
E-mail: ptcox@camden.rutgers.edu

Vice President, Research and Publications
Robert V. Cassanello
Univ. of Central Florida
E-mail: robert.cassanello@ucf.edu

Vice President, Teaching and Learning
Jeanine Clark Bremer
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
E-mail: clarkbremer@att.net

Executive Director
Peter B. Knupfer
Michigan State Univ.
E-mail: peter@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Treasurer
Scott N. Hendrix
Cuyahoga Comm. Coll.
E-mail: hendsn1@gmail.com

H-Net Staff Editor
Seth Offenbach
Bronx Comm. Coll., CUNY
E-mail: sethoffenbach@gmail.com

Associate Director, Networks
Jesse James Draper
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
E-mail: draperje@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Associate Director, Research & Publications
Yelena Kalinsky
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
E-mail: yelena@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Council Member
Dominique Daniel
Oakland Univ.
E-mail: daniel@oakland.edu

Council Member
Daniel Fandino
Univ. of Central Florida
E-mail: danfandino@gmail.com

Council Member
Caroline W. Merithew
Univ. of Dayton
E-mail: cmerithew1@udayton.edu

Council Member
David Matthew Prior
Univ. of New Mexico
E-mail: davidmprior78@gmail.com

Council Member
Gregory Adam Scott
Univ. of Edinburgh
E-mail: gregory.scott@ed.ac.uk

Council Member
Nick Andrew Timmerman
Mississippi State Univ.
E-mail: nat80@msstate.edu

Council Member
Jeremy L. Wells
Texas State Univ.
E-mail: jlw245@txstate.edu

Council Member
Lorna Zukas
National Univ.
E-mail: lzukas@nu.edu