Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (History Division)

Established: 1966. Affiliate Since: 1978. Membership: 450. Annual dues: $140 to join AEJMC; $30 additional fee to enroll in the History Division.

Statement of Purpose: To promote scholarship and teaching in the area of journalism (mass communication) history. This is understood to include not just the history of people and institutions of journalism, but also the various roles and functions of journalism in society and, in turn, the impact of society on journalism. The division is also committed to making journalists more sensitive to the idea and importance of history.

Annual Meeting: August

Publication: Clio among the Media, quarterly


Twitter: @AEJHistory

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
History Division
234 Outlet Pointe Blvd.
Columbia, SC29210-5667

Primary Contact: Madeleine Liseblad,


Division Chair
Madeleine Liseblad
California State Univ., Long Beach

Vice Chair/Program Chair
Rachel Grant
Univ. of Florida

Second Vice Chair/Research Chair
Brian Creech
Temple Univ.

Updated 8/22/22