Alcohol and Drugs History Society

Established: 1979. Affiliate since December 1986. Membership: 250. Annual dues: Individual $40; student $20.

Statement of Purpose: The ADHS exists to advance, support, and encourage the study of any aspect of alcohol and drug use or policy in any society or era and to enhance public awareness of the history of alcohol and drugs both licit and illicit.

Annual Meeting: Part of the AHA annual meeting

Publications: ADHS Daily Register; Points blog; The Social History of Alcohol and Drugs: An Interdisciplinary Journal, biennially

Website: https://alcoholanddrugshistorysociety.org/

Primary Contact: Miriam Kingsberg Kadia, miriam.kingsberg@colorado.edu

Officers

President
Timothy A. Hickman
Lancaster Univ.
Email: t.a.hickman@lancaster.ac.uk

Vice President
Paul E. Gootenberg
State Univ. of New York, Stony Brook
Email: paul.gootenberg@stonybrook.edu

Secretary
Miriam Kingsberg Kadia
Univ. of Colorado, Boulder
Email: miriam.kingsberg@colorado.edu

Treasurer
Robert P. Stephens
Virginia Tech
Email: rosteph2@vt.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Social History of Alcohol and Drugs
Nancy Campbell
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Email: campbn2@rpi.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Social History of Alcohol and Drugs
David L. Herzberg
State Univ. of New York, Buffalo
Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Social History of Alcohol and Drugs
Lucas Richert
Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison
Email: lrichert@wisc.edu

AHA Liaison
W. Scott Haine
Alcohol and Drugs History Society
Email: shaine@aol.com

Updated 2/22/21