J. Russell Major Prize

J. Russell MajorThe American Historical Association awards the J. Russell Major Prize annually for the best work in English on any aspect of French history. The prize was established in memory of J. Russell Major, the distinguished scholar of French history who died on December 12, 1998, at the age of 77. Major served on the history faculty at Emory University from 1949 until his retirement in 1990, and wrote 10 books, including Representative Government in Early Modern France and From Renaissance Monarchy to Absolute Monarchy: French Kings, Nobles and Estates. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright of 2014 are eligible for the 2015 award.
  2. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  3. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Major Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent only to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2015, to be eligible for the 2015 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2016 AHA annual meeting in Atlanta.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Michael B. Miller Allan A. Tulchin Leslie Tuttle
Univ. of Miami 807 Grandin Ave. 3930 Floyd Dr. 
Dept. of History Rockville, MD 20850 Baton Rouge, LA 70808
PO Box 248107
Coral Gables, FL 33124
Will accept e-book submissions
at mbmiller@miami.edu