Dorothy Rosenberg Prize

The Dorothy Rosenberg Prize for the history of the Jewish diaspora recognizes the most distinguished work of scholarship on the history of the Jewish diaspora published in English during the previous calendar year. Eligibility will otherwise be defined quite broadly, to include books on any period and from any disciplinary field that incorporates a historical perspective. In making its selection, the prize committee will pay particular attention to depth of research, methodological innovation, conceptual originality and literary excellence. Works that reinterpret old themes or develop new theoretical perspectives are welcome. Anthologies, encyclopedias and other edited volumes will not be considered. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Books with a copyright of 2014 are eligible for the 2015 award.
  2. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  3. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Rosenberg Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent only to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2015, to be eligible for the 2015 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2016 AHA annual meeting in Atlanta.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

David Biale Deborah Dash Moore Eric L. Goldstein
Univ. of California, Davis Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor Emory Univ. 
Dept. of History Frankel Center for Judaic Studies Dept. of History
1 Shields Ave. 202 S. Thayer St., Ste. 2111 561 S. Kilgo Cir. NE
Davis, CA 95616 Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1608 Bowden Hall, Room 221
Will accept e-book submissions  Atlanta, GA 30322