2018 Texas Conference

The AHA's 2018 Texas Conference on Introductory History Courses will be held on Friday and Saturday, September 28-29 at the University of Texas at Austin.
Registration for this event has closed.
Questions? Email Julia Brookins at jbrookins@historians.org

Location: Avaya Auditorium,

Peter O'Donnell Jr. Building (POB)

University of Texas at Austin

201 E 24th St

Austin, TX 78712

Parking: Paid parking is available in University garages. The San Jacinto Garage (2401 San Jacinto Blvd.) and San Antonio Garage (2420 San Antonio St.) are closest to the venue, about a 10-minute walk of the conference building, POB. Guests pay $18 per car per day, and $15 for the half day.

Public Transit: CapMetro services the area with six bus routes, including limited-stop ('Rapid') and high-frequency routes. Use the CapMetro trip planner to find your best option.

This free, two-day, statewide conference is for anyone who teaches college-level introductory history courses whether in high schools, community colleges, or four-year universities, and others with an interest in the courses. Together, we will explore disciplinary goals and approaches to teaching and learning history at the college introductory level; share experiences in each of the course topics; discuss the state policy context that sustains them as a graduation requirement for every student at a public college or university in Texas; and consider the challenges and opportunities for high-quality students learning in the state’s expanding dual-enrollment programs. There will also be an opportunity for participants to workshop their own classroom materials in an assignment “charrette.”

The AHA extends its thanks to the Department of History at the University of Texas at Austin, Department Chair Jacqueline Jones, and staff members Courtney Meador and Art Flores, for their hospitality and their work making this event possible. Thank you to Milestone Documents for its sponsorship of box lunches for conference attendees.

Featured speakers will include:

Anne F. Hyde, University of Oklahoma

Emilio Zamora, University of Texas at Austin and incoming President, Texas State Historical Association

Raymund Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Trinidad Gonzales, South Texas College

Brad Cartwright, University of Texas, El Paso

Milestone Documents Logo.